UDSM Professor Re-appointed to the Danish Consultative Research Committee

Sat, 30.Apr.2022 10.22

By UDSM Staff Writer,

The University of Dar es Salaam don, Professor Christine Noe, has been re-appointed a member of the Consultative Research Committee for Development Research, which advises the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark on the country’s support to development research.

A statement by the Danida Fellowship Centre which was released on 28 April, 2022 states that Prof. Noe will again join the newly formed Committee after serving in the previous one in 2021.

The Committee, which is appointed by the Danish Minister for Development, is composed of eight researchers as well as a representative from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark.

“It is responsible for assessing research funding proposals, advising the Ministry on matters regarding the award of the competitive funds for development research projects and for the quality assurance of the research projects”, reads the Danida Fellowship Centre statement.

Prof. Noe, a Geography guru, and the Principal of the College of Social Sciences (CoSS), is very pleased with this appointment and optimistic that it will help in improving the collaborations between the University of Dar es Salaam and Danida.

“I was appointed in 2021 to fill a gap in the previous committee. My re-appointment in the new committee is crucial for continuity of collaborations. However, I joined the committee at the time when Denmark ended its diplomatic mission in the country causing reduction in research funds and development support to Tanzania. This makes most of our higher learning institutions ineligible for funding, with some exceptions for only a few of them”, said Prof. Noe.

Prof. Noe now serves in the committee from 2022 to 2024, together with other distinguished scholars globally namely Prof. Christian Lund (University of Copenhagen) who is the committee chairperson and Prof. Lotte Meinert (Aarhus University) as deputy chairperson.

Other members include Prof. Erik Skov Madsen (University of Southern Denmark), Prof. John Christensen (Yonsei University South Korea), Senior researcher Helene Maria Kyed (Danish Institute for International Studies), Prof. Anja Kaarina Nygren (University of Helsinki), Prof. Ola Westengen (Norwegian University of Life Sciences) and Tove Degnbol, Head of Department at the Office for Evaluation, Quality and Learning – which is responsible for the Danida funded research support, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark.