The history of the College of Natural and Applied Sciences (CoNAS) starts from the time the Faculty of Science was established as an academic unit of the former University College Dar es Salaam.

The former University College Dar es Salaam was one of 3 constituent colleges of the former University of East Africa. The other two constituent colleges were: Makerere University College in Kampala/Uganda and Nairobi University College in Nairobi/KenyaThe University College Dar es Salaam was inaugurated on 25th October 1961 by
Mwalimu Julius K. Nyerere, who was then the Prime Minister of Tanganyika.

The University College Dar es Salaam was initially housed in the TANU Building along Lumumba Street in Dar es Salaam City Centre. It consisted of a single faculty, the Faculty of Law.

In July 1965, almost five years after its establishment in 1961, the University College moved to the current premises at the “Hill” and established two more faculties to make a total of three:

  •  Faculty of Law (FoL)
  • Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (FASS) and
  • Faculty of Science (FoS)
  • Faculty of Science

The newly established Faculty of Science (FoS) started off with five departments namely:

  • Botany
  • Chemistry
  • Mathematics
  • Physics, and
  • Zoology

From Faculty to College
In April 2009, UDSM upgraded 4 of its faculties into campus colleges. In that process, the Faculty of Science was merged with the Faculty of Aquatic Sciences and
Technologies (FAST) and transformed into a campus college which assumed its current name “College of Natural and Applied Sciences (CoNAS).”

In 2015, the Department of Aquatic Science and Fisheries moved out of CoNAS to be a department with the same name of the newly formed campus College of Agricultural Sciences and Fisheries Technology (CoASFT). Therefore, the number of departments in the college now stands at 7, which are:
 Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
 Zoology and Wildlife Conservation




Prof. Robertson, J.H*

1965 – 1969

Prof. D.G. Osborne

1969 – 1970

Prof. A.S. Msangi*

1970 – 1973

Dr. F. Nyahoza*

1973 – 1974

Prof. M.S. Ntamila*

1974 – 1976

Prof. P.B. Vitta

1976 – 1979

Prof. A.M. Nikundiwe*

1979 – 1982

Prof. J.R. Mainoya*

1982 – 1988

Dr. M.G. Bilal

1988 – 1991

Prof. A.S.A. Mshimba

1991 – 1994

Prof. A.M. Nikundiwe*

1994 – 1995

Prof. M.H.H.  Nkunya

1995 – 2000

Prof. R.T. Kivaisi*

2000 – 2006

Prof. E.J. Mbede

2006 – 2007

Prof. F.S.S. Magingo

2007 – 2009

Prof. F.S.S. Magingo (1st Principal)

2009 – 2012

Dr. Gamba Nkwengulila (2nd Principal)

2012 – 2015

Prof. Thomas J. Lyimo (3rd Principal)

2015 – Present