Department of Aquatic Science and Fisheries Technology

DASFT is one of the six teaching departments in the College of Agricultural Sciences and Fisheries Technology (CoAF) and comprises of 20 academic staff who are Ph.D. holders , 12 technical staff and other administrative staff. The breadth and scope of DASFT encompasses programmes for undergraduate and postgraduate teaching ,non-degree programmes, research and public services in basic and applied aquatic sciences.


DASF aspires to become a reputable unit of the University of Dar es Salaam that is responsive to national, regional and global development needs through engagement in dynamic knowledge creation and application bases in Aquatic environment



The unrelenting pursuit of scholarly and strategic research, education, training and public service in Aquatic Sciences directed at attainment of equitable and sustainable socio-economic development of Tanzania and the rest of Africa.



"Student focus; academic freedom; academic integrity; internationalism; professional and ethical standards; social responsibility; equity and social justice; public accountability; productivity, innovation and entrepreneurship in Aquatic environment."


History and Administrative development

The Department of Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries (DASF), established in April 2009, is the youngest in the College of Natural and Applied Sciences (CoNAS). However, its history can be traced back to 1968 when teaching of Aquatic Sciences (Mostly Marine Biology Courses) started under the then Faculty of Science (FoS) of the University of East Africa. In 1975 a Marine Biology study program was established under the then Department of Zoology and Marine Biology, where courses on Marine Biology were offered up to 2002.

In October 2002, The Faculty of Aquatic Sciences and Technology (FAST) was established in accordance with the Government Notice No. 486 published on 25th of this month. The Faculty was established following the integration of the then Kunduchi Marine Fisheries Research and Training Institute (KMFRTI) formerly under the Ministry of Natural Resources and Tourism, and the former Marine Biology Section of the then Department of Zoology and Marine Biology of the University of Dar es Salaam. At establishment, FAST was located at Kunduchi, Dar es Salaam, in the premises of the former KMFRTI..

FAST was formed with two teaching departments; the Department of Aquatic Environment and Conservation and the Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture. The faculty's first Dean was Prof. Yunus D. Mgaya (Photo 1) who served between 2002 until his appointment as the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration) of the University of Dar es Salaam in 2006.

Prof. Yunus D. Mgaya, Dean FAST (2002-2006). Following Prof. Mgaya appointment to the DVC position, Prof. John F. Machiwa (Photo 2) was appointed as the new and second Dean of FAST. When FAST was established, head of the Department of Aquatic Environment and Conservation was Prof. John F. Machiwa who served between 2002 and 2006. He left when he was appointed to serve as the Deputy Vice Principal (Administration) of Mkwawa University College of Education (MUCE). Dr. Blandina Lugendo was appointed head of the Department of Aquatic Environment and Conservation to fill in the gap left by Prof. John F. Machiwa. Therefore she became the second head of department and the first female to head the Department of Aquatic Environment and Conservation