The Department of Geography in collaboration with the University of Cape Town’s Environmental Humanities South (EHS) is pleased to announce research scholarships for Masters and PhD through a four-year grant from the Science for Africa Foundation. Namely Critical Zones Africa South and East (CzASE), the project brings several other African research institutions including Addis Ababa University, Eduardo Mondlane University, Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources (LUANAR), University of Zimbabwe, Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC) of South Africa and University of Leeds (School of Earth and Environment).

Applications are invited from qualified candidates with academic backgrounds in Social and Applied Sciences in the fields of Geography, Climate Change, Sociology & Anthropology, Soil Science, Environmental Science, Hydrology, Food Science, and Forestry & Wildlife management. Additional skills in climate change impacts, mitigation, and adaptation will be an added advantage. Successful candidates will be required to register for a Masters in Geography and Environmental Management (by research/thesis) in the Department of Geography, University of Dar es Salaam.