UNIVERSITY OF DAR ES SALAAM

P.O. BOX 35091  $\blacklozenge$  DAR ES SALAAM  $\blacklozenge$  TANZANIA



# APPOINTMENT OF HEADS OF DEPARTMENTS FOR THE 2024/2025 - 2026/27 TRIENNIUM

This is to inform the University of Dar es Salaam Community and the public that, in exercise of the powers vested upon him, the Vice Chancellor, Prof. William A. L. Anangisye has appointed Heads of Departments effective from 10th October 2024.

#### MWALIMU JULIUS NYERERE MLIMANI CAMPUS

COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURAL SCIENCES AND FOOD TECHNOLOGY (CoAF)		HNOLOGY (CoAF)
1.	Head, Department of Food Science and Technology	Dr. Victor Matabura
2.	Head, Department of Agricultural Economics and Business	Dr. Innocensia John
3.	Head, Department of Crop Science and Beekeeping Technology	Dr. Charles Joseph
4.	Head, Department of Agricultural Engineering	Dr. Simon Marandu

	COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY (CoET)		
1.	Head, Department of Chemical and Processing Engineering	Dr. Mahir Said	
2.	Head, Department of Electrical Engineering	Dr. Aviti Thadei Mushi	
3.	Head, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering	Dr. Peresi Bulemo	
4.	Head, Department of Structural and Construction Engineering	Dr. Daudi Augustino	
5.	Head, Department of Transportation and Geotechnical Engineering	Dr. Pancras Bujulu	
6.	Head, Department of Water Resources Engineering	Dr. Joseph Mtamba	

COLLEGE OF NATURAL AND APPLIED SCIENCES (CoNAS)		
1.	Head, Department of Botany	Prof. Samora Andrew
2.	Head, Department of Chemistry	Prof. Stephen S. Nyandoro
3.	Head, Department of Mathematics	Dr. Marco Mpimbo
4.	Head, Department of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology	Dr. Juma Hussein
5.	Head, Department of Physics	Dr. Mwingereza Kumwenda
6.	Head, Department of Zoology and Wildlife Conservation	Dr. Flora Stephano Nyaki

	COLLEGE OF INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATION TECHNOLOGIES (CoICT)	
1.	Head, Department of Computer Science and Engineering	Dr. Mecy Mbise
2.	Head, Department of Electronics and Telecommunications Engineering	Prof. Baraka J. Maiseli
3.	Director, Centre for Virtual Learning	Dr. Fatma Simba Ikuja

	COLLEGE OF HUMANITIES (CoHU)		
1.	Head, Department of Archaeology and Heritage	Dr. Elinaza Mjema	
2.	Head, Department of Creative Arts	Dr. Daines Sanga	
3.	Head, Department of Foreign Languages and Linguistics	Dr. Cyprian Kirangi	
4.	Head, Department of History	Dr. Hezron Kangalawe	
5.	Head, Department of Literature	Dr. Yunus Ng'umbi	
6.	Head, Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies	Dr. Michael Felisian Lyakurwa	
7.	Director, Centre for Communication Studies	Dr. Zilpah Saul Ombijah	

COLLEGE OF SOCIAL SCIENCES (CoSS)		
1.	Head, Department of Geography	Dr. Nestory Yamungu
2.	Head, Department of Political Science and Public Administration	Dr. Lupa Ramadhani
3.	Head, Department of Sociology and Anthropology	Dr. Richard Sambaiga
4.	Head, Department of Statistics	Dr. Amina Msengwa

	UNIVERSITY OF DAR ES SALAAM SCHOOL OF LAW (UDSoL)		
1.	Head, Department of Economic Law	Dr. Florencia Kimario	
2.	Head, Department of Private Law	Dr. Francis Tumaini Sabby	
3.	Head, Department of Public Law	Dr. Belinda Chepchumba	

	SCHOOL OF EDUCATION (SoED)		
1.	Head, Department of Educational Foundations, Management and Lifelong Learning	Dr. George Kahangwa	
2.	Head, Department of Educational Psychology and Curriculum Studies	Dr. Albert Tarmo	
3.	Head, Department of Physical Education and Sports Sciences	Dr. Joyce Ndabi	

	UNIVERSITY OF DAR ES SALAAM BUSINESS SCHOOL (UDBS)		
1. Head, Department of Accounting   Dr. Patrick Reginald Mbw		Dr. Patrick Reginald Mbwile	
2.	Head, Department of Finance	Dr. Thobias Swai	
3.	Head, Department of General Management	Dr. Theresia Dominic	
4.	Head, Department of Marketing	Dr. Robert Suphian	

SCHOOL OF ECONOMICS (UDSE)		
1.	Head, Department of Economics	Dr. Innocent Pantaleo
2.	Head, Department of Applied Economics	Dr. Martin Chegere

	SCHOOL OF MINES AND GEOSCIENCES (SoMG)		
1.	Head, Department of Mining and Mineral Processing Engineering	Dr. Alphonce Wikedz	
2.	Head, Department of Geosciences	Dr. Emmanuel Kazimoto	
3.	Head, Department of Petroleum Science and Engineering	Dr. Emily Kiswaka	

	SCHOOL OF AQUATIC SCIENCES AND FISHERIES TECHNOLOGY (SoAF)		
1.	Head, Department of Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Technology	Dr. Lydia Gaspare	
2.	Head, Department of Aquaculture Technology	Prof. Chacha Mwita	

	INSTITUTE OF KISWAHILI STUDIES (IKS)		
1.	Head, Department of Kiswahili Language and Linguistics	Dr. Musa Shembilu	
2.	Head, Department of Literature, Communication and Publishing	Prof. Angelus Jacob Mnenuka	

INSTITUTE RESOURCE ASSESSMENT (IRA)		
Centre for Climate Change Studies	Dr. Edmund Mabhuye	

## **CONSTITUENT COLLEGES**

#### DAR ES SALAAM UNIVERSITY COLLEGE OF EDUCATION (DUCE)

1.	Head, Department of Languages and Literature	Dr. Magreth Kibiki
2.	Head, Department of History, Political Science and Development Studies	Dr. John Kihamba
3.	Head, Department of Geography and Economics	Dr. Gabriel Hinju
4.	Head, Department of Educational Foundation, Management and Lifelong Learning	Dr. Cecilia Swai
5.	Head, Department of Educational Psychology and Curriculum Studies	Dr. Rehema Mwakabenga
6.	Head, Department of Biological Sciences	Dr. Neema Mogha
7.	Head, Chemistry Department	Dr. James Mgaya
8.	Head, Department of Physics, Mathematics and Informatics	Dr. Zubeda Musa

#### MKWAWA UNIVERSITY COLLEGE OF EDUCATION (MUCE)

1.	Head, Department of History, Political Science and Development Studies	Dr. Edward Mgaya
2.	Head, Department of Geography and Economics	Dr. Tiemo Haule
3.	Head, Department of Languages and Literature	Dr. Spemba Spemba
4.	Head, Department of Educational Psychology and Curriculum Studies	Dr. Vincent Cosmas
5.	Head, Department of Educational Foundation and Management	Dr. Zedekiah Nyagawa
6.	Head, Department of Biological Sciences	Dr. Moses Olotu
7.	Head, Chemistry Department	Dr. Jovin Emmanuel
8.	Head, Department of Physics, Mathematics and Informatics	Dr. Mwasunda Joshua

The University congratulates all the appointees and wishes them success in fulfilling their duties.

### ISSUED BY COMMUNICATION AND MARKETING UNIT 10th October 2024